Changemaker Award

The Featherstone Foundation’s Changemaker Award recognizes an influential leader that drives social change and makes a positive impact in the community.   

The William & Lanaea C. Featherstone Foundation, an award-winning nonprofit, announces Alicia Wilson, co-founder, Black Philanthropy Circle, as this year’s 2023 Featherstone Changemaker Award recipient. This prestigious prize recognizes an influential leader who drives social change and makes a positive impact in the community. Read More.

Wilson will be honored during the Featherstone Awards Ceremony, an annual event that showcases Baltimore’s most promising youth and promotes academic equity in higher education. Thirty exceptional students, from underrepresented communities, will receive $3,000 Featherstone College Scholarships to attend Coppin State University, Morgan State University, The University of Baltimore and other institutions. Travis E. Mitchell, senior vice president and chief content officer, Maryland Public Television, will give the keynote address.

Wilson joins an accomplished list of Featherstone Changemaker Award recipients:

Catalina Rodriguez, director, Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs (2022)
Monica Mitchell, co-founder, Lillie May Carroll Jackson Middle School (2021)
Pamela King, senior program manager, Open Society Foundations, Baltimore (2020)

We invite you to save the date for our annual Featherstone Awards Ceremony on Friday, August 11, 2023 from 4:00pm to 6:00pm at The University of Baltimore

Since 2017, the Featherstone Foundation has provided over $311,000 through 128 scholarships to students from 20 countries who now attend 12 institutions.  Funds raised will provide general support aligned with our effort to create equal access to opportunities. We invite you to review our sponsorship options and benefits and our special tribute video. 

During these unprecedented times, we hope you will join us in playing a critical role in creating economic advancement opportunities for underrepresented communities. We invite you to become a sponsor.

Learn more:
2022 Award Winners
2021 Award Winners