2022 Featherstone College Scholarship Awards Ceremony


Each year, the William & Lanaea C. Featherstone Foundation honors the high academic achievements of outstanding students from underrepresented communities across the state of Maryland. This year, 30 outstanding students will receive recognition and college scholarships for their stellar academic performance. 

We invite you to join us at our virtual Featherstone Awards Ceremony on Friday, September 23, 2022 from 12:00 to 1:30pm. 

Last year’s phenomenal lineup included: 

  • Media Luminary Luis Botello will emcee and headline the event.
  • Travis E. Mitchell, senior vice president & chief content officer, Maryland Public Television, will provide the keynote address.
  • Monica Mitchell, founding board president, Lillie May Carroll Jackson Middle School, will receive our 2021 Changemaker Award that honors an influential leader who has made significant contributions to the community.
  • Mariana Díaz, deputy consul, Consular Section of the Embassy of Mexico in Washington, DC.
  • This year’s student honorees will attend Coppin State University, Goucher College, Morgan State University, Northwestern University, University of Maryland, College Park, and The University of Baltimore.  

Checkout the list of our 2021 Award Winners, here

Funds raised will provide general support aligned with our effort to create equal access to opportunities. We invite you to review our sponsorship options and benefits and our special tribute video. 

During these unprecedented times, we hope you will join us in playing a critical role in creating economic advancement opportunities for underrepresented communities. We invite you to become a sponsor